March 21, 2023
  • Padma Awards, instituted in 1954, are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on eve of Republic Day.
  • Padma Awards are presented to honor people from different fields such as social work, education, literature, public affairs, education, etc.
  • These are given in three categories
    • Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service.
    • Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of a high order.
    • Padma Shri for distinguished service.
  • Total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/OCIs) should not be more than 120.
  • Awardees are presented a Sanad (certificate) signed by President and a medallion. There is no cash prize.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development