May 30, 2024


Current Context : Payal Kapadia wins Grand Prix Award for her film ‘All We Imagine as Light’. For the first time in 30 years an Indian film, Payal Kapadia's ‘All We Imagine as Light’ which centers around the lives of two nurses, was nominated for the Palme d'or, the highest award in the festival. With this win she becomes the first Indian to bag this prestigious award. This comes after 30 years when Shaji N Karun’s ‘Swaham’ competed for highest honour. Her film was granted official Indo-French co production status by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, under the signed....Read More

Current Context : National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) gets global recognition for Talent Development and secured 3rd rank at ATD BEST Awards 2024. NTPC becomes the only PSU to receive the prestigious award seven times in the past eight years. Award ceremony held in New Orleans, USA, on 21st May, 2024. The company has adopted a focused approach towards learning and development, embraced technology and innovation, set industry benchmarks, facilitated learning opportunities, and fostered a culture of continuous learning. ABOUT The ATD BEST Awards, established by the Association for Talent Development (ATD), USA, is one of the most esteemed international....Read More

Current Context : German author Jenny Erpenbeck and translator Michael Hofmann won the International Booker Prize 2024 for fiction “Kairos. It is run alongside the Booker Prize for English-language fiction, which will be handed out in the fall. ABOUT The International Booker Prize is an international literary award hosted in the United Kingdom. It is awarded every year. The Booker Prizes celebrate the world's best fiction originally written in English (the Booker Prize) or translated into English (the International Booker Prize) Prize Money awarded to winner is £50,000. Established: June 2004 Presented by: Booker Prize FoundationRead More

Bhavi Mehta won the 9th Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize 2024 for 'The Book Beautiful' by Pradeep Sebastian. The event was held at the India Habitat Centre, New Delhi. Mehta received a trophy, certificate and a cash prize of INR 1 lakh. Three other designers were also recognised for their exceptional work, namely: Gunjan Ahlawat for ‘The Penguin Book of Indian Poets’ Saurav Das for ‘Azad Nagar’ Saurabh Garge for ‘The Adornment of Gods’. ABOUT OXFORD BOOKSTORE ART BOOK PRIZE: It was launched in 2022 with the Visual Arts Gallery, and recognises art across various genres in publications. It aims....Read More

Eminent author Ruskin Bond has been awarded by the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship. He has been actively writing for more than 50 years and has written in various genres of literature, including short stories, children's books, novels, autobiographical works and non-fiction. His notable works include 'Vagrants in the Valley', 'Once Upon a Monsoon Time', 'Angry River', 'Strangers in the Night', 'All Roads Lead to Ganga', 'Tales of Fosterganj', 'Leopard on the Mountain' and 'Too Much Trouble'. He is also a recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1992, Sahitya Akademi’s Bal Sahitya Puraskar in 2012, Padma Shri in 1999 and Padma....Read More

The 108th Pulitzer Prize ceremony held at Columbia University honoured excellence in journalism, literature, drama, and music, against extraordinary circumstances. The New York Times won for reporting on the Gaza conflict. List Of Winners Journalism Category Public Service: Pro Publica (Joshua Kaplan, Justin Elliott, Brett Murphy, Alex Mierjeski, and Kirsten Berg) Investigative Reporting: Hannah Dreier (The New York Times) International Reporting: Staff of The New York Times Editorial Writing: David E. Hoffman (The Washington Post) Breaking News: Photography Staff of Reuters Feature Photography: Photography Staff of Associated Press Audio Reporting: Staff of the Invisible Institute and USG Audio BOOK, DRAMA,....Read More

The Palestinian journalists covering Israel’s brutal war in Gaza were named as Laureates of the 2024 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize. The Award Ceremony was took place on 2 May in the margins of the World Press Freedom Conference in Santiago, Chile. ABOUT THE AWARD: Established in 1997, the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize honours a person, organisation or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world. It is named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, a Colombian journalist who was assassinated in front of the offices....Read More

Forest and tribal rights activist Alok Shukla will receive the prestigious Goldman Environmental Prize – 2024 for successfully leading a community campaign that saved 4,45,000 (4.45 lakh) acres of biodiversity-rich forests from 21 planned coal mines in Chhattisgarh. Also known as the Green Nobel, the prize recognises grassroots environmental heroes from roughly the world’s six inhabited continental regions — Africa, Asia, Europe, Islands & Island Nations, North America, and South & Central America. A statement from the Goldman Environmental Foundation mentioned that the government cancelled the auction of 21 proposed coal mines in Hasdeo Aranya, whose pristine forests — popularly....Read More

Noted Hindi film superstars Hema Malini and Saira Banu, along with other prominent personalities from the fields of art and culture, will be honoured with the prestigious Pandit Lacchu Maharaj Award. The award ceremony will take place on 31 August 2024 in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. LIST OF WINNERS: Winner Award for Year  Belongs to Place  Exponent of Dance form Uma Sharma  2015 New Delhi Kathak Rama Vaidyanathan  2016 New Delhi Kathak Uma Dogra  2017 Jaipur Kathak Hema Malini  2018 Mumbai Kathak, Film actress Saira Banu 2019 Mumbai Kathak, Film actress Sandhaya Puricha 2018 Mumbai Bharatanatyam Exponent Dr. Malabika   Mitra ....Read More

Laureus Awards 2024

The 2024 Laureus Sports Awards ceremony held in Madrid. The event was a grand celebration of the world's best athletes and their achievements. List of winners: World Sportswoman of the Year: Aitana Bonmati World Sportsman of the Year: Novak Djokovic World Team of the Year: Spain Women’s Football Team World Breakthrough of the Year: Jude Bellingham World Comeback of the Year: Simone Biles World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Diede de Groot World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Arisa Trew Laureus Sport for Good: Rafael Nadal Foundation ABOUT THE AWARDS: The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual....Read More

© 2024 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development