February 28, 2024


India-born media executive Dr Samir Shah was confirmed as the new BBC chairman after his selection cleared the stages of scrutiny to be approved by King Charles III. Shah, who has worked in UK broadcasting for over 40 years, was picked as the government’s preferred candidate in December last year and went on to be quizzed by cross-party MPs of the House of Commons Media Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee for his pre-appointment scrutiny. The 72-year-old has now been confirmed for four-year term role to take charge as the public broadcaster’s first Indian-origin Chair from March 4 until March....Read More

Geeta Batra, an Indian economist, has been named as the new Director at the Independent Evaluation Office of the World Bank’s Global Environment Facility. This makes her the first-ever woman from a developing country to hold the coveted post. ABOUT GLOBAL ENVIRONMENT FACILITY The Global Environment Facility (GEF) was established on the eve of the 1992 Rio Earth Summit. The GEF is a unique partnership of 18 agencies — including United Nations agencies, multilateral development banks, national entities and international NGOs — working with 183 countries to address the world’s most challenging environmental issues. It has a unique governing structure....Read More

Senior IAS officer Radha Raturi was appointed as the first woman chief secretary of Uttarakhand. Raturi, an Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of the 1988 batch, replaces Sukhbir Singh Sandhu She is the first woman to hold the top administrative post in Uttarakhand.Read More

Former Railway Board Chief Anil Kumar Lahoti has been appointed as the chairman of the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI). He has been appointed for a period of three years from the date of assumption of charge of the post or until he attains the age of 65 years or until further orders, whichever is earlier. ABOUT TRAI The Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) was established with effect from 20th February 1997 by Telecom Regulatory Authority of India Act, 1997. TRAI's mission is to create and nurture conditions for growth of telecommunications in the country in a manner....Read More

The Centre has notified the appointment of four full-time members for the panel of 16th Finance Commission. It is chaired by the first NITI Aayog vice-chairman and Columbia University professor Arvind Panagariya. October 2025 is the deadline set for the commission to submit its recommendations, so that they can be incorporated in the Budget exercise for 2026-27. The new panel has been tasked with recommending the tax-revenue sharing formula between the Centre and the States for the five-year period beginning April 2026. The Sixteenth Finance Commission’s terms of reference include a review of the present arrangements for financing disaster management....Read More

The Centre has recently appointed senior Indian Police Service (IPS) officer Daljit Singh Chaudhary as the Director General of the Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB). The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved his appointment for a period up to November 30, 2025 i.e. the date of his superannuation. SSB guards India’s frontiers with Nepal and Bhutan.Read More

Ambassador Indra Mani Pandey, a senior diplomat of India, assumed the position of Secretary General (SG) of the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC). He succeeded Tenzin Lekphell of Bhutan, is the 4th SG of BIMSTEC and will remain in office for a period of three years.   ABOUT BIMSTEC The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is a regional organization that was established on 06 June 1997 with the signing of the Bangkok Declaration. Initially known as BIST-EC (Bangladesh-India-Sri Lanka-Thailand Economic Cooperation), the organisation is now known as BIMSTEC....Read More

Rashmi Shukla, a 1988 batch IPS officer, was appointed DGP by the Maharashtra Government recently. She has become the first woman Director General of Police (DGP) of the Maharashtra Police.Read More

Judicial appointments

The President recently nominated Justice Sanjiv Khanna, the second senior-most judge of the Supreme Court, as Executive Chairperson of the National Legal Services Authority (NALSA). As per convention, the post of Executive Chairman of NALSA is occupied by the second-senior judge of the Supreme Court. Also Supreme Court judge, Justice BR Gavai has been nominated by the National Legal Services Authority as the Chairman of the Supreme Court Legal Services Committee. ABOUT SUPREME COURT LEGAL SERVICES COMMITTEE The Supreme Court Legal Services Committee, has been constituted under Section 3A of the Legal Service Authorities Act, 1987, for providing free and....Read More

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved the appointment of Vivek Srivastava (IPS) as Director General of Fire Service, Civil Defence & Home Guards under the Ministry of Home Affairs. OTHER APPOINTMENTS Anish Dayal Singh, has been appointed as the new Director General of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF). Also, Rahul Rasgotra, currently holding the position of Special Director at the Intelligence Bureau (IB), is set to assume the role of Director General of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP). FACTS Appointments Committee of the Cabinet makes appointments to higher offices like the Comptroller and Auditor General, Lokpal, Election....Read More

© 2024 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development