May 30, 2024

Japan defeated Pakistan in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Hockey Tournament 2024.

  • Japan won Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey trophy by defeating Pakistan 4-1 in the penalty shoot-out in the final was held at Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh, Malaysia, on 11 May 2024.
  • Six teams participated in the event includes Malaysia, Pakistan, South Korea, Japan, New Zealand and Canada.
  • Japan won the trophy, with Pakistan in second place.
  • Malaysia was in third followed by New Zealand, South Korea, and Canada in last place.


  • Sultan Azlan Shah is a prestigious Hockey tournament in Asia that has attracted the world’s top men’s national hockey teams which held annually.
  • India has been a regular participant in the Sultan Azlan Shah Tournament and won the trophy 5 times in 1985, 1991, 1995, 2009, 2010
  • Indian team skipped this tournament due to focus on preparing for the upcoming 2024 Paris Olympics starts on 26 July 2024.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2024 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development