Sapre Committee

  • The Supreme Court made public the report of the court-appointed expert panel in the Hindenburg-Adani row case.


  • It is a six-member expert committee constituted by the Supreme Court in the Hindenburg-Adani allegations case and headed by former Supreme Court judge, Justice A.M. Sapre.
    • The other 5 members include veteran bankers V. Kamath and O.P. Bhat, Infosys co-founder Nandan Nilekani, retired Justice J.P. Devdhar and advocate Somasekhar Sundaresan.
  • The committee gave the Supreme Court a detailed assessment of the situation which could have led to volatility in the securities market due to the Hindenburg-Adani row.
  • It found that there was no evidence of a “regulatory failure” on the part of SEBI.
    • But, it acknowledged that there is a need for an effective enforcement policy.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development