December 8, 2023


The Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (QUAD) included Taiwan, after G7, straight in talks on August 13, 2021.


  • Taiwan further irritated China by publicly thanking the members of the Quad for including peace and stability in Taiwan Strait during virtual discussions on August 12.
  • Biden administration is focusing and putting efforts towards developing the Taiwan Strait as a friction point with China after decades.
  • US has also successfully mentioned Taiwan Strait in its joint statements with Japan and South Korea.
  • Taiwan strait also found mention in the recent G-7 summit that was also attended by PM Narendra Modi.

Why inclusion of Taiwan in Quad irritated China?

Quad is considered as countermeasure against China in the Indo-Pacific region. With the inclusion of Taiwan, the grouping has strengthened its power in Indo-pacific region. China has been acting aggressively in South China Sea, East China Sea, Mekong, Himalayas and Taiwan Straits while Quad seeks to bring peace into the region.

China’s aerial incursion in Taiwan

China recently conducted the largest ever aerial incursions in Taiwan in which 28 military aircraft flew into air defence identification zone of Taiwan.

Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (Quad)

QUAD is a strategic dialogue between United States, Japan, Australia and India. It is maintained by talks between the member countries. This dialogue was initiated in 2007 by former Prime Minister of Japan Shinzo Abe in collaborations with the Vice President of USA Dick Cheney, former Prime Minister of Australia John Howard and former Prime Minister of India Manmohan Singh. The dialogue is paralleled by joint military exercises, called Exercise Malabar, of an unprecedented scale

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development