December 10, 2023

Pulitzer Prize 2021

Why in News ?

Pulitzer Prize 2021 was recently conferred recently. Megha Rajagopalan, an Indian-origin journalist, has won this top journalism award of USA on June 11, 2021.


  • Megha won the prize along with two contributors.
  • She has won Prize for innovative investigative reports exposing infrastructure of prisons and mass internment camps which were built secretly by China and detained Muslims in Xinjiang region.
  • Other two winners are Tampa Bay Times’ Neil Bedi who won for local reporting and Kathleen McGrory who has been awarded for series exposing a Sheriff’s Office initiative which used computer modelling to identify some 1000 people who could be future criminals.

Pulitzer Prize

This prize is awarded since 1942 for a distinguished example of reporting on international affairs. Till 1947, this award was called as Pulitzer Prize for Telegraphic Reporting – International. It is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, musical composition and literature within the United States. It was established by provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer.  These prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. Winners receive a certificate and a US$15,000 cash award.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development