May 26, 2024
  • Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation (MoSPI) has appointed A Ganesh Kumar and Debasis Kundu as members of the National Statistical Commission, which is mandated to strengthen the country’s statistical system and firm up surveys to be undertaken to provide administrative statistics.
  • The appointments will take the panel’s strength to the mandated five, including its chairman.
    • The Commission has a part-time Chairperson, four part-time Members and an ex-officio Member.
  • The National Statistical Commission was set up in 2005 on the recommendations of a panel headed by former RBI governor C Rangarajan, with an objective to provide “strategic direction and leadership to the national statistical system in MoSPI, line ministries and state governments”.
  • The commission’s purpose is to serve as the country’s nodal body for core statistical activities, suggest standards for statistical surveys and ensure coordination with other departments.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2024 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development