June 23, 2024
  • The Laureus World Sports Awards, 2021 was held in Seville. The awards are presented to honour individuals and teams who have achieved in sports throughout the year. It was established in 1999 by the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation. It is supported by Mitsubishi, Mercedes Benz. The first Laureus World Sports Awards was presented in 2000.
About the awards:
  • As of 2020, the awards are presented in eight categories. Roger Federer, a Swiss Tennis player holds the record for the most of the awards. He has won six “Sportsman of the Year” awards and one comeback of the year award.
  • The winners are presented with a statue of Laureus. It is created by the Cartier. The Cartier is the French Luxury Goods manufacturer. It manufactures watches, jewellery. It was founded in 1847.
  • Laureus means “Laurel”. Laurel is a Greek word.
  • In 2020, Sachin Tendulkar won Laureus World Sports Award for Laureus Sporting Moment 2000-2020.
Laureus World Sports Awards 2021

In 2021, the following Laureus World Sports Awards were presented:

  • Naomi Osaka (tennis, Japan) won the Sportswoman of the Year
  • Rafael Nadal (tennis, Spain) won the Sportsman of the Year
  • Billie Jean King (tennis, USA) won the Lifetime Achievement
  • FC Bayern (football, Germany) won the Team of the Year
  • Patrick Mahomes (American Football, USA) won the Breakthrough of the Year
  • Max Parrot (Snowboarding, Canada) won the World Comeback of the Year
  • Kickformore by Kickfair (football, German) won the Sport for Good
  • Mo Salah (football, Liverpool & Egypt) won the Sporting Inspiration Award
  • Lewis Hamilton (Formula One, Mercedes & UK) won the Athlete Advocate of the Year

This year the Laureus World sports Award for Action Sports person of the year was not awarded

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2024 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development