December 10, 2023


The Central Government has announced that it will provide 27% reservation for OBCs and 10% reservation for the economically weaker section (EWS). It will be provided under the All India Quota (AIQ) scheme for undergraduate and postgraduate medical/dental courses in state medical and dental colleges from 2021-22.

About All India Quota(AIQ) Scheme:

  • The All India Quota (AIQ) Scheme was introduced in 1986 under the direction of the Hon’ble Supreme Court.
  • Purpose: It provides for domicile-free merit-based opportunities to students from any State to aspire to study in a good medical college located in another State.
  • All India Quota consisted of 15% of total available UG seats and 50% of total available PG seats in government medical colleges.
  • Initially, there was no reservation in the AIQ Scheme up to 2007. In 2007, the Supreme Court introduced a reservation of 15% for SCs and 7.5% for STs in the AIQ Scheme.
  • Moreover, when the Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Admission) Act became effective in 2007 providing for uniform 27% reservation to OBCs, the same was implemented in all the Central Educational Institutions.
  • However, this was not extended to the AIQ seats of State medical and dental colleges. This has been done now.

Significance of this decision:

  • OBC and EWS students from across the country will now be able to take advantage of this reservation in the AIQ scheme to compete for seats in any state.
  • Moreover, being a central scheme, the central list of OBCs shall be used for this reservation.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development