• Prof Jayant V. Narlikar, a renowned astronomer and founder director of IUCAA , received the inaugural Govind Swarup Lifetime Achievement Award from the Astronomical Society of India (ASI).
  • Narlikar is a past president of ASI and was the founding director of the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA).
  • Prof Narlikar’s notable achievements include his research on the Universe, his contributions to Astrophysics, particularly the Narlikar-Hoyle theory, and his pioneering work in cosmology research in India.

About the award

  • The Govind Swarup Lifetime Achievement Award is an award given by the Astronomical Society of India (ASI) to recognize individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the field of astronomy throughout their careers.
  • The award was instituted in 2022 and is named after Govind Swarup, a pioneer in the field of radio astronomy in India.
  • It carries a cash prize of Rs. 1,50,000/-, funded by the family of Govind Swarup, as well as a plaque, and a citation.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development