June 12, 2024

G7 virtual meeting


  • During a two-day virtual meeting hosted by the United Kingdom, which currently holds the presidency of the G7, environment ministers from seven industrialised nations, or the G7 grouping, agreed to accelerate efforts to combat global warming.


  • By the end of 2021, they also agreed to discontinue government support for new coal-fired power plants.
  • Compared with the previously set target of 2 degrees, support has been expanded to limit global temperature rise to 1.5 degrees Celsius from pre-industrial levels.
  • They also promised to take the necessary steps to reduce deforestation, overfishing, promote biodiversity, and address the issue of ocean plastic.
  • They also pledged to prevent future outbreaks of COVID-19-like diseases from spreading from animals to humans.

G7 Group

  • Member countries -United States, the U.K., France, Japan, Germany, Italy, and Canada.
  • The first six countries were the original members of the G6. Its first summit was held at Rambouillet, France, in 1975.
  • Canada joined in 1976, making it the G7.
  • In 1997, Russia joined, making it the G8.
  • However, in 2013, the G8 became G7 once again when Russia invaded Crimea. The other G8 members imposed sanctions against Russia, including exclusion from the G8.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2024 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development