• Finance Minister chairs the 27th Meeting of Financial Stability and Development Council (FSDC).

About FSDC

  • A non-statutory apex council under the Ministry of Finance constituted by the Executive Order in 2010.
  • The Raghuram Rajan committee (2008) on financial sector reforms first proposed the creation of FSDC.
  • Chairman: Finance Minister
  • Members: Minister of State, in charge of Department of Economic Affairs, Heads of all Financial Sector Regulators (RBI, SEBI, PFRDA, IRDAI, IBBI); Secretaries to various departments.
    • FSDC sub-committee is headed by the RBI Governor.
  • Functions:
    • To strengthen and institutionalize the mechanism for maintaining financial stability, enhancing inter-regulatory coordination and promoting financial sector development.
    • To monitor macro-prudential supervision of the economy. It assesses the functioning of the large financial conglomerates.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development