• IAS Ravneet Kaur has become the first woman chairperson of CCI.


  • CCI was established by Central Government in 2003 as a statutory body under Competition Act, 2002.
  • The Monopolies and Restrictive Trade Practices Act, 1969 (MRTP Act) was repealed and replaced by the Competition Act, 2002, on the recommendations of the Raghavan committee.
  • HQ –New Delhi
  • It aims to eliminate practices having adverse effects on competition, promote and sustain competition, protect interests of consumers and ensure freedom of trade in markets of India.
  • CCI consists of a Chairperson and 6 Members appointed by Central Government.
  • It is an affiliated office with Ministry of Corporate Affairs.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development