Arab League

  • A meeting to debate Syria’s readmission to Arab League has ended without agreement.

About Arab League

  • It is an intergovernmental pan-Arab organisation of Arab states in Middle East and North Africa.
  • Formal Name – Al-Jamia ad-Duwal al-Arabiya (Arabic)
  • It was established in Cairo (HQ) in 1945, following adoption of Alexandria Protocol in 1944.
  • Currently it has 21 Arab countries as members (Syria suspended since 2011).
  • Founding members are Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Jordan, and Yemen.
  • It was established in response to concerns about post-war colonial divisions of territory and also strong opposition to emergence of a Jewish state on Palestinian territory.
  • India was granted an observer status in 2007.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

© 2023 Civilstap Himachal Design & Development